Our Team

IMI is currently led by a team that includes Alemtemshi Jamir, Sushil Ramola, Fantry Mein Jaiswal, Prem Das Rai, Amba Jamir, RP Gurung, Dr Tej Partap, Lalbiak Mawia Ngente, Prafulla Rao, and John Paulraj.

Alemtemshi Jamir

Alemtemshi Jamir is the President of IMI. He joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1977 and retired in January 2014 as Chief Secretary of Nagaland. He was involved in sustainable development issues throughout his service. He was Team Leader of NEPED and a strong proponent of Jhum or Shifting cultivation. He initiated the Bamboo Mission, Honey & Beekeeping Mission, Bio-Resource Mission, Dikhu Green Zone and Pico Hydropower generation in Nagaland and is currently advisor to the SDFN (Sustainable Development Forum of Nagaland) that hosted SMDS-III.

Sushil Ramola

Sushil Ramola is Co-founder and currently Chairman of B-ABLE  which was set up in 2009 in partnership with BASIX, the pioneering microfinance and livelihood promotion company in India. He is a former President and CEO of SRF Limited. He has over 34 years’ experience in leading innovation and performance driven business organizations in India, USA and the Middle East in both industry and service sectors.

He also has experience of engaging with civil society and is an active member of the board of several well-known NGOs such as Central Himalayan Environment Association (CHEA), SRF Foundation and the Blind Relief Association. For the last 16 years, he has also been mentoring and guiding some of the most respected schools in India. He is a chemical engineer and an IIM Ahmedabad alumnus.

PD Rai

PD Rai is member of the 16th Lok Sabha from Sikkim and belongs to the Sikkim Democratic Front Party. This is his second consecutive term as a Member of Parliament. He is a former Deputy Chairman of the State Planning Commission, Govt. of Sikkim, and has also chaired the Sikkim Industrial Development and Investment Corporation.

He has the distinction of being the first Member of Parliament with the dual and prestigious IIT and IIM degrees from Kanpur and Ahmedabad respectively. He is also a former Eisenhower Fellow (2000) from India. He was awarded the prestigious and selective Eisenhower Fellowship for his contribution to Sikkim’s economic and industrial growth.

He is the convener of the Integrated Mountain Initiative. He also initiated the first GLOBE (Global Legislators’ Organisation for Balanced Environment) State Chapter of India in Sikkim which provides legislators and parliamentarians of the state a platform to deliberate on major global environmental challenges.

Fantry Mein Jaswal

Hailing from the beautiful State of Arunachal Pradesh, Fantry Mein Jaswal joined the Indian Revenue Service (Customs & Central Excise) in 1976. In her career spanning 35 years, she held several challenging assignments. She considers herself fortunate to have lived and served in all parts of India including Bangalore, New Delhi, Chandigarh, Nashik etc. and gained enriching experiences in every city her job took her to. She superannuated in July 2011 as Chief Commissioner.

In August 2012, she was appointed as Chairperson of the Arunachal Pradesh State Finance Commission. Since completion of her report in June 2014, she is now a full- time Council Member of IMI.


Rajendra P Gurung is CEO, Ecotourism & Conservation Society of Sikkim (ECOSS) an NGO founded in 2001 that works for the promotion of responsible tourism, sustainable livelihoods and conservation of ecology and local culture. He has been actively engaged in designing and executing several projects on ecotourism, sanitation, water, natural fibre based livelihoods & biodiversity conservation and in the preparation of a vision document on quality elementary education for Sikkim.

He also works as a community and ecotourism consultant. He has authored a case study on livelihoods for a monograph compiled by CESS Hyderabad and co-authored a study on status of tourism in the North Eastern States. He is a member of the Sikkim State Board for Wildlife, a Member of the Expert (Ecotourism) Committee, Sikkim State Biodiversity Board, and is Vice President of the Sikkim Ornithological Society, an Independent Director of North Eastern Regional Agricultural Marketing Corporation Ltd.(NERAMAC). He is also  founding member of Zero Waste Himalayas.

Amba Jamir

Amba is a policy analyst and development advisor with over 15 years of multidisciplinary experience from policy formulation to project development. Professionally trained as an environmental lawyer and development communicator, he has experience working with grassroots organisations in the Asia-Pacific Region as a trainer, facilitator, and community leader in the areas of education, livelihood and policy advocacy. He has extensive experience working in local, national and international NGOs, the government and with advanced regional policy and research think tanks such as the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES), Japan. Currently, he is serving as the Executive Secretary of the Sustainable Development Forum, Nagaland.

Prafulla Rao

Wg. Cdr. Prafulla Rao (retd.) was commissioned in the Indian Air Force in 1975. He founded the NGO “SaveTheHills” in Kalimpong in 2007, which is an organisation which has been working tirelessly in highlighting the serious landslide problem in the Darjeeling – Sikkim region at various levels. He is also an avid photographer, and the Secretary of the Consumer Association, Kalimpong.


Dr. Tej Pratap is the former Vice Chancellor of the Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology of Kashmir. He served as the 6th regular Vice Chancellor of Chaudhary Sarwan Kumar Himachal Pradesh Agriculture University, Palampur. Prior to this he has been associated with Highland Agriculture at Tibet Academy of Agriculture and Animal Sciences (TAAS), Lhasa, China as an honorary Professor. He served as a Doctoral Research Guide at the Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China.

Dr.Lalbiak Mawia Ngente

Lalbiak Mawia Ngente is an architect and community leader. He has been the General Secretary of Central Young Mizo Association, Secretary of Mizoram People Forum, President YHAI Mizoram State Branch, and present Chairman of the Mizoram Sustainable Development Foundation. He has previously been associated with the Government of Mizoram
He has authored 3 books on the administrative history of Uttarakhand, another trilogy on various developmental events of Uttarakhand, and 3 more on the Right to Information. You can read his articles and papers at his website.

John Paulraj

John Paulraj is the Programme Coordinator. He is a development professional with experience and grassroots associations on issues of climate change, disaster risk reduction and wildlife conservation. He previously worked with the Tata Chemicals Society for Rural Development (TCSRD),Gujarat before joining IMI. He completed his master’s degree in Disaster Management from the Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai.